Railway Supply Institute Announces 2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients

Contact:  Amanda Patrick, RSI, 202-347-4664

Railway Supply Institute Announces 2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients
$31,000 in Scholarships Awarded to Children of RSI/CMA Member Company Employees

WASHINGTON, D.C., July 22, 2015 - The Railway Supply Institute (RSI) announced that its Scholarship Committee has selected seven students to receive scholarships for the 2015/2016 academic year. The students will receive between $2,500 and $5,000 each for a total of $31,225 in scholarship funds.

The scholarship recipients, their colleges, course of study and company affiliations are:

•    Kasey Christensen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Elementary and Special Education, FreightCar America;
•    Audrianna DeLacour, Clarion University of Pennsylvania, Secondary Education English, Brookville Equipment;
•    Tyler Irani, University Of Denver, Biology/Psychology, Transportation Technology Center;
•    Laura Isdahl, Gustavus Adolphus College, English, Loram Maintenance of Way;
•    Breana Liberoni, St. Vincent College, Accounting, Wabtec Corporation;
•    Karla Lopez Lemus, University of the State of Hidalgo, Social Work/Special Education, Greenbrier Mexico;
•    Timothy Pierret, Notre Dame, Engineering, New York Air Brake Corporation

RSI President Tom Simpson said, “We continue to be impressed by the quality of applicants for our scholarship program. Each year the RSI Scholarship Committee awards a minimum of four scholarships to children of members of RSI or our affiliates, the Coordinated Mechanical Associations. Thanks to donations from the Air Brake Association, Diesel Locomotive, GLNX and Valspar, we are proud to offer scholarships to these seven outstanding students to help them defray the cost of their education,” he noted.
More than 120 students have received an RSI Scholarship since the program began in 1989, while pursuing degrees in a variety of fields including engineering, business, nursing, teaching, and transportation. Applicants must be the child or dependent of a current employee whose company is a member of the Railway Supply Institute or one of the Coordinated Mechanical Associations (CMA). The CMA include the Air Brake Association, Inc. (ABA), the International Association of Railway Operating Officers (IAROO), the Mechanical Association Railcar Technical Services (MARTS), and Locomotive Maintenance Officers Association (LMOA). More information about RSI’s scholarship program, including how RSI members can contribute, is available at http://rsiweb.org/rsi-scholarship/.

About The Railway Supply Institute (RSI)
The Railway Supply Institute (RSI) is the international trade association for the rail supply industry, representing the nation’s leading companies involved in the manufacture of products and services in the freight car, tank car, locomotive, maintenance-of-way, communications and signaling, and passenger rail industries. America’s railway suppliers represent a $23 billion/year industry supporting 90,000 American workers. For more information visit RSI’s website, www.rsiweb.org, or call 202-347-4664.


RSI 2015/2016 Scholarship Winners
Kasey Christensen,
Grand Island, Nebraska

Audrianna DeLacour,
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Tyler Irani,
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Laura Isdahl,
Plymouth, Minnesota

Breana Liberoni,
New Alexandria, Pennsylvania

Timothy Pierret,
Fayetteville, New York